Drivers in Arizona who are convicted with driving under the influence (DUI) charges for the first time will receive a “slightly gentler” sentence, starting January 1st 2013.
A new state law set to take effect when the New Year comes in will reduce the amount of time that first-time offenders are required to have an ignition-interlock device on their vehicles, from one year to six months.
Interlock devices prevent vehicles from turning on if alcohol is detected in the driver’s breath. Arizona is known as among the toughest states when it comes to DUI laws, as it is one of only 15 that require first-time offenders to have interlock devices.
The length of time that an interlock device is used varies by state, and with the reduction, Arizona joins the ranks of Oregon, New Jersey, and Missouri, which require interlock devices for a period of six months.
The change was proposed early this year by Sen. Linda Gray of Glendale, who said that while she still believes in requiring interlock devices, she thinks that six months is long enough to teach a lesson.
The Arizona Chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), however, opposed the change to the law. Since Arizona required first-time offenders to have interlock devices, the number of DUI fatalities has decreased, and MADD Arizona program specialist Kelley Dupps said that they will be monitoring whether the new law will cause an increase in the number of DUI fatalities.
Dupps said: “We definitely feel the interlock law has made a huge difference in the DUI fatalities in Arizona… Interlocks allow offenders to get back on the road and drive safely while the community can rest assured that they are driving safely.”
Like most states, there is a DUI law in Florida. DUI stands for “driving under the influence of alcohol”. Getting arrested and charged with a DUI is a criminal offense, because you are not only endangering yourself but those with or around you.
When the alcohol percentage in human blood is 0.08% or higher, the person may be booked under DUI in Florida. It is important to remember that DUI laws vary from state to state in their severity, and some states may have a law that is a bit more relaxed than others. However, all states are unanimous in their views that driving while drunk is a crime that can end or destroy a lot of lives, and there must be steps to curb it.
When a person is arrested on DUI charges in Florida, he has approximately ten days to ask for a hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle (FDHSMV) to protect his license from being confiscated permanently. If the person fails to request such a hearing, it may lead to a six-month jail term that could drag on for 18 months.
Punishments in Florida DUI arrests are varied with far-reaching consequences. There are fines that start at a $250 but could shoot up to $2000 or beyond, depending on the nature of the damage done and the number of times the person has been caught committing the same offense. There are severe jail terms too that a person might have to face. These jail terms could be between six months to five years. Community service, with alcohol education classes is also a mandatory requirement.
If you are arrested in Florida for a DUI, it is extremely important to get in touch with an expert DUI attorney without delay. Other than retaining a good lawyer, visiting highly informative websites that talk about Florida DUI are a big help. However, it is always advisable to drive in a sober state so that such unfortunate incidents can easily be avoided.
Search the site
- ~ Darla G.
"I was referred to the law offices of N.H. Craemer - and I was not disappointed with the legal services that they provided. Thanks once again."
- Read more testimonials »
What's the little bird saying?
Fatal error: Call to undefined function aktt_sidebar_tweets() in /home/craemer/public_html/wp-content/themes/wisebusiness/sidebar.php on line 41